On location viewing

Collapse
X

• Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• On location viewing

I'd often like to preview the pictures that I have taken on something better than the rather small lcd screen on my camera. I don't want to carry a laptop around or even an iPad. I wouldn't normally have power or wi-fi available.

I was wondering about one of the new tablets like the Nexus or Galaxy Tab. Getting the pictures onto the tablet is one problem, I'm told that there is a work around for the Nexus lack of a card slot. The Tab has a microSD card and my camera seems to be OK with microSD class 6.

Any comments or advice please. I have no experience with these devices.

Re: On location viewing

Hi Mike -

There is quite an amount of information around, I have been looking for answers to questions for a few weeks, before asking for a Nexus 7 16Gb as another birthday is arriving fairly soon. ( too often )

Here are a few links which I hope will answer your question:

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/technolog...a-Nexus-7.html

http://www.nexustablets.net/forum/ne...tep-setup.html

http://support.google.com/nexus/?hl=en-GB&topic=2565937

It would be interesting if other forum members have any hints and tips too.

Regards. Barr1e
    Last edited by Barr1e; 30-09-12, 10:46 AM. Reason: altered answer

Comment

Thanks Barrie. The first link more or less echoes what I had unearthed. Whether or not you can simply connect the camera cable to the OTG adapter cable USB socket will be a matter of trial and error. Otherwise a card reader would be needed.

The other possible solution is to use an eye fi card but there are caveats about using them with my current camera and a definite 'no' to using one in the camera I'm saving up for.

Be nice to hear from people actually using this solution.

Comment

Originally posted by mike_j View Post