Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  

advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Image insight > Help and advice for beginners

Help and advice for beginners If you don't classify yourself as being particularly expert or experienced and you have a question or problem that you need help with in the area of improving images, this is the board to get the assistance you seek.

Old 30-07-12
Just chillin

Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Kev is on a distinguished road
Question Kevs learning curve!

Ok hear goes!

I'm a complete beginner and would like to take photography up as a hobby.

I took some of these at work today and then some when i got home.

Please feel free to point out any problems and also any tips are more than welcome.

The camera used was just a point and click Samsung Es9.

I will post pictures in this thread as i progress and you can watch me turn into a professional photographer.

Ps: if the threads in the wrong place could someone move it for me,Thanks.

Kev
Old 30-07-12
Just chillin

Re: Kevs learning curve!

Old 30-07-12
Admin

Liked at 195 Times in 158 Posts
Ian is on a distinguished road

Hi Kev - not a bad start

Have you come across something called the rule of thirds? It's not a 100% rule, but you can try positioning the subject in the frame off-centre, maybe by a third, which is why it's called the rule of thirds. It's naturally more comfortable on the eye compared to positioning the subject in the middle of the frame.

Try it and you should see what I mean. You may also notice in movies and on TV that the cameraman will often use the rule of thirds for framing too

Ian
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Old 30-07-12
Just chillin

Hello Ian,Thanks

Well as it goes i didn't untill about 3 days ago when someone told me the same thing.

I will give it ago,Ill be looking closely at the TV tonight to see if i notice the 'rule of thirds'.