Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Welcome > Digital photography problem solving centre

Digital photography problem solving centre Got a problem that needs solving? Camera, lens, software, computer, accessory, technique, etc. Post it here and we'll do our best to find an answer for you! As long as it is related to photography some how, we're interested!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 13-05-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,140
Thanks: 118
Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked at 89 Times in 75 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

I copied My Pictures from my PC hard drive to my new Touro External Drive.

I loaded LR but could not see them. I then tried importing them but it said they were already in LR, Did I want to Merge them? Anyway I got round that by unchecking "Don't Import suspected duplicates" and that worked.

I would now like to know how I can have my Touro open in Lightroom with the adjustments that have already been applied to the pictures on my PC's hard drive.

I'm sure there is a way. can anyone help me please?
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 13-05-14
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

Audry if the images on your PC are catologued in LR the easiest way would have been after copying them to your external HD to then just right click on the main image folder and select the shown option.


Then navigate to the folder on your External HD where the image have been copied.


Job Done and all your adjustments will stay intact.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to OlyPaul For This Useful Post:
Ian (13-05-14)
  #3  
Old 13-05-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,140
Thanks: 118
Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked at 89 Times in 75 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

When I did that, the dialogue box said that the images were already in Lightroom and did I wish to Merge them, if I said Yes, the screen flickered and they still weren't showing in Touro, if I said No, the dialogue box vanished and I still could not see them in Touro.

Now, in LR, if I click on My Pictures in my 'P' Drive (Photographs) all my adjustments are there.

If I click on My Pictures in my 'T' Drive (Touro) there are more images here than on my 'P' Drive (because sometimes I have deleted them from Lightroom, but not from the hard drive). None of the adjustments are showing on Touro. The history just says Imported on 12 May 2014

The Touro is 1 Tb and is basically for use with my laptop which cannot hold all my images. I would like to take it to my laptop and plug it in and for the adjustments to be there. Is there any way I can copy the adjustments to my Touro?
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 13-05-14
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,132
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 90
Thanked 139 Times in 118 Posts
Likes: 393
Liked at 195 Times in 158 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

Hi Audrey - did you go through the stage of 'Updating the location' of your images folder? Lightroom is basically a database containing information about your images but not the images themselves. It stores information about where the images are stored or located, so if that location changes then the database needs to be updated with the new location. As the database has so much information about the images it can verify the different location quite easily. Your images can only be in one location, so you can't have them on your main hard drive as well as the external drive.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 13-05-14
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Your images can only be in one location, so you can't have them on your main hard drive as well as the external drive.

Ian
Ian is correct to a point, the only way to have them referenced separately on a main hd and external hd is to create a separate catologue just for the external hd.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 13-05-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,140
Thanks: 118
Thanked 50 Times in 50 Posts
Likes: 281
Liked at 89 Times in 75 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

Thanks for your time. I just thought I would be able to have the same adjustments on both drives by syncing them.

Never mind, it will keep me busy overy the next few years.
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 14-05-14
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,132
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 90
Thanked 139 Times in 118 Posts
Likes: 393
Liked at 195 Times in 158 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightoom 5 and Touro external hard drive

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Ian is correct to a point, the only way to have them referenced separately on a main hd and external hd is to create a separate catologue just for the external hd.
OK, Paul - I see what you mean, maybe to clarify - you can have two sets of your images, one on the main computer hard drive and one on an external drive but it would be very difficult and practically impossible to maintain one catalogue for both storage locations because you'd have to make Lightroom re-find the images each time and if you added new images to one location they would need to be added to the other, etc.

I run two catalogues; one on my laptop and one on my desktop computer. The desktop has all my images and the laptop just the ones I needed to work on while I was on the move.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
The Following User Says Thank You to Ian For This Useful Post:
Autumn (17-05-14)
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Urgently require an external hard drive Autumn Accessories 11 16-10-12 02:19 PM
Seagate Ships World’s Slimmest, Portable, External Hard Drive DPNow Latest DPNow articles 0 08-04-11 09:23 AM
Buffalo Technology announces SuperSpeed USB3.0 external hard drive DPNow Latest DPNow articles 0 28-09-09 11:40 AM
Toshiba announces New USB 2.0 Portable External Hard Drive DPNow Latest DPNow articles 0 04-01-07 01:40 PM
Lidl are selliing a 250Gb external hard drive for £69 himmelblau Computer conundrums 7 21-12-06 01:23 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 08:41 PM.


© Digital Photography Now, 2001-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger