Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Welcome > Digital photography problem solving centre

Digital photography problem solving centre Got a problem that needs solving? Camera, lens, software, computer, accessory, technique, etc. Post it here and we'll do our best to find an answer for you! As long as it is related to photography some how, we're interested!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-09-13
DennisP DennisP is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead,Herts,UK
Posts: 393
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 0
DennisP is on a distinguished road
Remote shutter controlers

Is there anyone who has used the O-RC1 Pentax Remote Control with Pentax DLSR cameras ?. If so can you tell me what the two smaller buttons on it actually do, if anything. I have one and have used it with the Pentax K30 DLSR using just the larger button to fire the shutter, but there is nothing in the instructions sheet that came with the device to explain what the two small buttons are for.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 02-09-13
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,191
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 92
Thanked 141 Times in 120 Posts
Likes: 400
Liked at 208 Times in 167 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Remote shutter controlers

At a guess one or maybe both might be to lock the release for long exposures?

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 02-09-13
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,191
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 92
Thanked 141 Times in 120 Posts
Likes: 400
Liked at 208 Times in 167 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Remote shutter controlers

OK - had a peek at one; the middle button is for zooming (with compact cameras, not DSLRs) and the bottom one is a function button that would have various functions, probable dependent on the camera used, dedicated to it.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-09-13
DennisP DennisP is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead,Herts,UK
Posts: 393
Thanks: 4
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 3 Times in 2 Posts
Rep Power: 0
DennisP is on a distinguished road
Re: Remote shutter controlers

Hi Ian - many thanks for both replies. Now after reading page 120 of the K30 manual it states :- When [14.AF with Remote Control] is set to [On] in the [C Custom Setting 2] menu,you can use the remote control unit to a.just the focus. That is referring to the middle button, the other one Fn button is not functional. So that solves the mystery. It pays to read the manual. !!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Shutter shenanigans Ian DSLR and other system camera discussion 11 11-06-13 07:37 PM
Satechi WTR-A Wireless Timer Remote Control Shutter DPNow Latest DPNow articles 0 13-06-12 09:31 AM
How to control shutter speed without Shutter Priority Mac Compact digicam centre 9 04-08-10 01:08 PM
Breeze Systems announce DSLR Remote Pro v1.5 introduces Remote Live View DPNow Latest DPNow articles 0 02-10-07 02:30 PM
Shutter activations? jojo General discussion 7 06-12-06 02:18 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 09:03 AM.


Digital Photography Now, 2001-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger