Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Image insight > Help and advice for beginners

Help and advice for beginners If you don't classify yourself as being particularly expert or experienced and you have a question or problem that you need help with in the area of improving images, this is the board to get the assistance you seek.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-10-06
norn iron's Avatar
norn iron norn iron is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
norn iron is on a distinguished road
Help with PC

Because Lightroom is running ok on my existing PC I decided to hang on to it for a while longer. Trouble is the hard drive is only 30 gigs which as you probably know isnt enough for Lightroom, so I decided to add a second hard drive. The drive i got is an OEM so it doesnt have any instructions but the Tech guy in PC World said it was just a case of setting the jumper to the slave setting' fitting the drive and windows would pick it up it would be ready to go. Ive fitted the drive but i cant find it when i look in My Computer. It shows up in the device manager so it is there somewhere.

Thanks
Ken
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-10-06
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen Stephen is offline
Seriously addicted
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wakefield, W.Yorks.
Posts: 4,319
Blog Entries: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Stephen is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with PC

Not sure of the solution to the problem, but wondered if you had considered using it as an external drive. PCWorld sell external USB encasements for around 20 They are very easy to fit and of course completely portable
__________________
Stephen



Check out my BLOG too


Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-10-06
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,155
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 90
Thanked 138 Times in 117 Posts
Likes: 393
Liked at 195 Times in 158 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by norn iron View Post
Because Lightroom is running ok on my existing PC I decided to hang on to it for a while longer. Trouble is the hard drive is only 30 gigs which as you probably know isnt enough for Lightroom, so I decided to add a second hard drive. The drive i got is an OEM so it doesnt have any instructions but the Tech guy in PC World said it was just a case of setting the jumper to the slave setting' fitting the drive and windows would pick it up it would be ready to go. Ive fitted the drive but i cant find it when i look in My Computer. It shows up in the device manager so it is there somewhere.

Thanks
Ken
You'll need a bit more info for some sleuthing to be accomplished on this

I'm presuming it's installed internally? Is it an IDE (flat ribbon cable, wide connector) drive or a SATA (slim cable, slim connector) drive?

If it's an IDE drive, which is the likeliest as it sounds like your PC isn't that new, is it attached to a ribbon cable that is shared by another device (another drive - CD/DVD or HD).

Finally, have you partitioned and formatted your new drive? Unlike memory cards, for example, bare drives come unformatted.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-10-06
norn iron's Avatar
norn iron norn iron is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
norn iron is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with PC

Hi Ian,

If it's an IDE drive, which is the likeliest as it sounds like your PC isn't that new, is it attached to a ribbon cable that is shared by another device (another drive - CD/DVD or HD).

Yes its an IDE drive and its attached to the ribbon cable that comes from the master HD

I dont know how to format the new drive because i dont know where it is

The new drive shows up as the slave to the primary master drive when booting up.
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-10-06
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,155
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 90
Thanked 138 Times in 117 Posts
Likes: 393
Liked at 195 Times in 158 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by norn iron View Post
Hi Ian,

If it's an IDE drive, which is the likeliest as it sounds like your PC isn't that new, is it attached to a ribbon cable that is shared by another device (another drive - CD/DVD or HD).

Yes its an IDE drive and its attached to the ribbon cable that comes from the master HD

I dont know how to format the new drive because i dont know where it is

The new drive shows up as the slave to the primary master drive when booting up.
Assuming you are running Windows XP, right click over My Computer and then click on 'Manage'. Then click on Disk Management under 'Storage'. Your new drive should be listed, probably as Disk 1 (your main hard drive being Disk 0). Right click on the new drive and from there you can partition and format the drive. If you intend to maintain the drive as an internal one, I'd recommend formatting it as a NTFS drive. If you might be using the drive in an external enclosure, then FAT32 might be better, depending on the size of the drive.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 10-10-06
norn iron's Avatar
norn iron norn iron is offline
Forum regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Norfolk UK
Posts: 76
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
norn iron is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with PC

Thanks for your help Ian,
that done the trick ive now got the new drive up and running.

I asked the lad in PC World about formatting the drive and was told that it would be done automatically in windows, i thought that was a bit too easy.

anyway thanks once again,

Ken
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 10-10-06
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen Stephen is offline
Seriously addicted
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wakefield, W.Yorks.
Posts: 4,319
Blog Entries: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Stephen is on a distinguished road
Re: Help with PC

Quote:
Originally Posted by norn iron View Post

I asked the lad in PC World about formatting the drive and was told that it would be done automatically in windows, i thought that was a bit too easy.

Ken
Sounds par for the course, generally staff in PC World know very little, except how to sign up for extended warranties or credit agreements
__________________
Stephen



Check out my BLOG too


Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:38 AM.


Digital Photography Now, 2001-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger