Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Image insight > Software solutions > Living with Lightroom

Living with Lightroom The DPNow forum place for Adobe Photoshop Lightroom discussion

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 10-01-12
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Lightroom 4 Beta

I've been testing this against LR3 for the last hour or so.

Preliminary conclusions so far are..

1- That it is more resource hungry than LR3.

2- The map feature is a nice touch and is similar but better than the one in the recent release of ACDseePro4.

3- The develop module improvements are well worth the upgrade alone as there is even less reason to transfer to PS .

As a example this original image.


Had to be transfered from LR3 to PS as two exposures one for the sky and one for the truck and then combined as it was impossible to keep the detail in shadow and highlight in LR3 for the look I wanted.

Combined images in PS from LR3.


Now using LR4 without the need for further processing in a outside editor.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 10-01-12
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,331
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 99
Thanked 155 Times in 133 Posts
Likes: 435
Liked at 248 Times in 196 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Nice example, Paul. I see that the download size is nearly double that of LR3.6, although that might be because it's a beta. I just hope LR doesn't unnecessarily bloat with feature overload.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 10-01-12
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Me to Ian, there does seem to be a lag with some sliders, sometimes a few seconds between moving the slider and the image showing the changes on my machine, this does not happen on LR3.

Hopefully it's just a beta glitch.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 10-01-12
Barr1e's Avatar
Barr1e Barr1e is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: UK
Posts: 3,349
Thanks: 415
Thanked 164 Times in 150 Posts
Likes: 683
Liked at 667 Times in 446 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Barr1e is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Looks impressive Paul - thanks.

I do rather enjoy Elements though - doesn't tax the brain.

Regards. Barr1e
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 10-01-12
mike_j mike_j is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stamford, Lincs
Posts: 583
Thanks: 14
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 19
Liked at 133 Times in 95 Posts
Rep Power: 0
mike_j is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

I have only tried a few pics but there are certainly significant changes in the processing.

LR3 always tended to give my DNG files a yellowish colour grass. Suddenly it's green, but only after using the sharpening preset. The preset seems now to do a lot more than just sharpen, it adjusts colour and exposure.

Lots more experimenting to do. I like most of what I have seen though.

Now if only the would give us a decent clone tool or healing brush!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 11-01-12
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,331
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 99
Thanked 155 Times in 133 Posts
Likes: 435
Liked at 248 Times in 196 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_j View Post
I have only tried a few pics but there are certainly significant changes in the processing.

LR3 always tended to give my DNG files a yellowish colour grass. Suddenly it's green, but only after using the sharpening preset. The preset seems now to do a lot more than just sharpen, it adjusts colour and exposure.

Lots more experimenting to do. I like most of what I have seen though.

Now if only the would give us a decent clone tool or healing brush!
Do you not like the Spot Removal tool? It's a lot more powerful than its name implies.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 11-01-12
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by mike_j View Post

LR3 always tended to give my DNG files a yellowish colour grass. Suddenly it's green, but only after using the sharpening preset. The preset seems now to do a lot more than just sharpen, it adjusts colour and exposure.
Not for me it does not, applying the preset sharpening (or any sharpining) has no effect on grass colour or any colour at all, just contrast.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 11-01-12
mike_j mike_j is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Stamford, Lincs
Posts: 583
Thanks: 14
Thanked 28 Times in 27 Posts
Likes: 19
Liked at 133 Times in 95 Posts
Rep Power: 0
mike_j is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Ian - no I don't like the present spot removal tool compared with a clone tool in PS CS n.n and I'm not alone. It's one of the most criticised tools in another forum which I sometimes visit.

OlyPaul

Re sharpening tool.

This is a screen snip from a direct DNG import.



When I apply the 'Sharpen - narrow edges' tool (and nothing else) this happens (again - screen snip). It's better and saves time but I didn't expect it and don't yet understand what is going on. Maybe it applies auto white balance and auto exposure as part of the preset.

Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 11-01-12
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Something is amiss there then as just applying sharpening should not effect it.

Perhaps you are applying auto correction without realising it?

DNG import


Preset sharpening applied...no colour difference.

__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 12-01-12
rogleale rogleale is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rogleale is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

You've confused me a bit Paul, to my eye there is quite a pronounced difference between the two shots you posted. In the one with sharpening applied both the grass and the brown twigs in the background are much less saturated, and the grass is yellower.

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 12-01-12
Geoff Geoff is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: No longer here.
Posts: 434
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Geoff is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogleale View Post
You've confused me a bit Paul, to my eye there is quite a pronounced difference between the two shots you posted. In the one with sharpening applied both the grass and the brown twigs in the background are much less saturated, and the grass is yellower.

Roger
The colours in Paul's images look identical to me! Out of curiosity I copied both images to Photoshop to compare by putting them one on top of the other in layers and the colours are both the same.

Roger, perhaps it is the viewing angle on your monitor that is making the bottom image seem yellower and less saturated.

Regards,

Geoff.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 12-01-12
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,331
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 99
Thanked 155 Times in 133 Posts
Likes: 435
Liked at 248 Times in 196 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Screen grabs can show colour shifts but it seems to me that both Paul's examples are screen grabs from LR4 so they ought to be the same and they do look the same to me on my monitor.

I will also try to replicate Mike's experience and report back.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 12-01-12
rogleale rogleale is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rogleale is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Quite right Geoff! That'll teach me to be lazy and fire up the laptop at the breakfast table! On my big machine they do match.
I've been a confirmed Photoshop addict since PS6 and I really like the workflow in ACR but have been playing a lot with LR4 now, mainly because I am interested in the book module. Unfortunately LR4 seems more like an alpha than a beta to me as far as speed goes.
The sliders in the hue etc panel are very slow to produce any effect on the image.
The change between modules, ie library to develop, is very slow.
The new clarity control is far too fierce for a very small movement of the slider.
In the Detail panel it seems to me that the sharpening is less effective than it used to be, and the masking is less precise than before.
My copy is not picking up on some changes I have made. For instance I made a quick collection for a book, and tagged all pictures in it with purple. When I go to the Book module the only colour collection listed is for Red tags.
The soft proofing is a good addition to LR but not too easy to use I find so I shall have to work at it.

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 12-01-12
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Has I had to downsize the one screen grab there may be a slight shift in tonality.

Here is the image exported both unshapened and preset sharpened in LR4.

No sharpening


Sharpened


Even the blue color cast in my dogs white coat has remained so I'm pretty sure Mike's problem is nothing to do with the sharpening preset alone.

Must say though I'm pretty disappointed with the slowness of adjustments showing and may sway me to stay with LR3 if there is no improvement.
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 12-01-12
rogleale rogleale is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rogleale is on a distinguished road
Re: Lightroom 4 Beta

Things are getting complicated!

The 'Process in Photoshop' steps have changed with LR4 beta. You will now get a warning that you may need ACR 7, currently only at 6.6, and you will be given three choices:
1. Cancel.
2. Open Anyway: A TIFF will be passed to PS with the LR adjustments included. ACR will make the adjustments that it can understand behind the scenes, ignore the rest, and open the image in PS.
3. Render using LR: If you have PS set to open Tiffs in ACR, the image will open in ACR

Roger
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The Lightroom 4 public beta has arrived! DPNow DPNow Member blog updates 0 10-01-12 06:46 AM
Lightroom 3 beta 2 observations Ian Living with Lightroom 3 27-03-10 09:25 PM
Lightroom 3 beta 2 update now available Ian Living with Lightroom 3 23-03-10 02:14 PM
Adobe announces Photoshop Lightroom 3 Beta DPNow Latest DPNow articles 0 22-10-09 05:48 AM
Adobe Lightroom Beta 4.1 Tinka Software solutions 9 25-01-07 10:43 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:58 PM.


© Digital Photography Now, 2001-2018, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger