Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Welcome > Headline news

Headline news Comment on DPNow news stories or even alert us to breaking news we haven't yet spotted.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1  
Old 25-04-11
rogleale rogleale is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rogleale is on a distinguished road
Layers in Lightroom?

Maybe you haven't seen this bit of news. I think lots of Lightroom users will cheer this!

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 25-04-11
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,338
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 99
Thanked 156 Times in 134 Posts
Likes: 435
Liked at 250 Times in 198 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogleale View Post
Maybe you haven't seen this bit of news. I think lots of Lightroom users will cheer this!

Roger
Thanks Roger - I wasn't aware of this and OnOne usually keep us updated.

I have to say that I can't see that Lightroom is an ideal layers-based platform, and I still routinely edit images that need layers work in PS from LR and this works well.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 25-04-11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,787
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Thanks Roger - I wasn't aware of this and OnOne usually keep us updated.

I have to say that I can't see that Lightroom is an ideal layers-based platform, and I still routinely edit images that need layers work in PS from LR and this works well.

Ian
I purchased Lightroom3 some weeks ago and have been using it more & more, CS4 less & less (still not keen on the library feature, I persevere), but there are time when Photoshop has to be used, so layers in Lightroom interests me a lot.
So I just downloaded the free beta trial copy of this plug-in, looks good to me. Although as yet a bit sparse on features at this stage, however they promise more for the final retail version.
If they get it right then for what I can see Photoshop could become redundant for me at least.
Much depends on price.

Patrick

Last edited by Patrick; 25-04-11 at 05:19 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 25-04-11
rogleale rogleale is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rogleale is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Announced as £120 Patrick

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 25-04-11
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen Stephen is offline
Seriously addicted
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wakefield, W.Yorks.
Posts: 4,319
Blog Entries: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Stephen is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
I purchased Lightroom some weeks ago and have been using it more & more, CS4 less & less (still not keen on the library feature, I persevere), but there are time when Photoshop has to be used, so layers in Lightroom interests me a lot.
So I just downloaded the free beta trial copy of this plug-in, looks good to me. Although as yet a bit sparse on features at this stage, however they promise more for the final retail version.
If they get it right then for what I can see Photoshop could become redundant for me at least.
Much depends on price.

Patrick
Pleased to see you have finally bought LR Patrick, it's been the best bit of software I've ever had.
__________________
Stephen



Check out my BLOG too


Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 25-04-11
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen Stephen is offline
Seriously addicted
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wakefield, W.Yorks.
Posts: 4,319
Blog Entries: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Stephen is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogleale View Post
Announced as £120 Patrick

Roger
Phew, not cheap for a plugin
__________________
Stephen



Check out my BLOG too


Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 25-04-11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,787
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Stephen View Post
Pleased to see you have finally bought LR Patrick, it's been the best bit of software I've ever had.
I have owned all versions of Lightroom but as I have posted before never liked the library, still donít but am learning to live with it.
Always liked the program but didn't use it a I should have because of the library and LR3 is fantastic.

As to the price £120 is heavy for a plugĖin but not as expensive as Nik software plug-ins, their HDR plug-in is £160, it has to be said though its bloody good.

Nice to see you entering the fray again Stephen.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 26-04-11
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 759
Thanks: 4
Thanked 33 Times in 30 Posts
Likes: 4
Liked at 69 Times in 46 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

I'm not sure what the point of this is as selecting two files in LR with this plugin creates another additional PSD/TIFF file, just the same as if you had edited them in PS then returned that PSD file back to LR.

Now if it had been a none destructive (and no extra file created) like editing within LR is, then that would have been something, as it is it just seems a gimmick for software junkies.

The only reason to have it, would be if you had LR but not Photoshop or Elements,and at £120 this plugin is lot dearer than Elements!
__________________
__________________
Regards Paul.
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 26-04-11
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,338
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 99
Thanked 156 Times in 134 Posts
Likes: 435
Liked at 250 Times in 198 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
I'm not sure what the point of this is as selecting two files in LR with this plugin creates another additional PSD/TIFF file, just the same as if you had edited them in PS then returned that PSD file back to LR.

Now if it had been a none destructive (and no extra file created) like editing within LR is, then that would have been something, as it is it just seems a gimmick for software junkies.

The only reason to have it, would be if you had LR but not Photoshop or Elements,and at £120 this plugin is lot dearer than Elements!
__________________
Yes, this is basically how I feel. And for layers to really work you need loads of tools which LR doesn't have. Layers is for PS, not really for LR in my book.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 26-04-11
rogleale rogleale is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 601
Thanks: 0
Thanked 9 Times in 9 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 18 Times in 12 Posts
Rep Power: 0
rogleale is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

I think that is the whole point of this plug-in Paul. Some people can't afford Photoshop, which is understandable because it is very expensive, and don't want to buy Elements because it isn't Photoshop.
£120 pounds is a lot cheaper than PS

Roger
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 26-04-11
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,338
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 99
Thanked 156 Times in 134 Posts
Likes: 435
Liked at 250 Times in 198 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by rogleale View Post
I think that is the whole point of this plug-in Paul. Some people can't afford Photoshop, which is understandable because it is very expensive, and don't want to buy Elements because it isn't Photoshop.
£120 pounds is a lot cheaper than PS

Roger
Elements now is much more powerful than PS was just a few years ago...

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 26-04-11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,787
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: Layers in Lightroom?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Elements now is much more powerful than PS was just a few years ago...

Ian
Indeed Elements is a powerful program these days, but it still doesn't support channels which may or may not worry some users.
I personally do use channels in CS4 from time to time and could very well miss them.

As to the Perfect Layers plug-in I find it unkind to say its for software junkies as there will be those that like the idea of not going from one program to another in their workflow. Agreed it is at this moment light on features and tools. It is after all only a beta at the moment, more is promised for the retail version, at £120 I would expect a lot of those extra features.

I see nothing wrong with the idea of layers in Lightroom, in fact I welcome it. Perhaps if this plug-in is successful Adobe might see the light and include it in Lightroom 4, but then pigs might fly.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Tags
None

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom kennykodak Software solutions 11 05-06-11 09:59 PM
What would you like to see in Lightroom 4 Stephen Living with Lightroom 9 29-05-11 12:45 PM
Lightroom 3 tip Autumn Software solutions 2 26-11-10 10:55 PM
Lightroom 2.7 Autumn Software solutions 1 04-09-10 10:31 PM
Combining exposures using Layers ryme-intrinseca Software solutions 5 23-02-09 12:12 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 11:14 PM.


© Digital Photography Now, 2001-2019, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger