Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Image insight > Software solutions

Software solutions Exchange ideas and tips and learn how to make the best use of your image editing software here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 15-11-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,162
Thanks: 118
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
Likes: 273
Liked at 86 Times in 73 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

Is it possible to reset my Dell 1500 to factory settings without having to reinstall all the programs again?

What I am really asking, is can I save my programs on say a hare drive, reset my laptop and then copy my programs back to the laptop?
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 15-11-14
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Pixel scutcher
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 184
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 12
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked at 59 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 0
StephenL is on a distinguished road
Re: Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

No. If you reset your PC back to it's virgin state, by using say the recovery disk, that will "zeroise" your registry. You will then have to individually reinstall each program so it writes the correct data into that virgin registry.

May I ask why you need to reset?
__________________
Stephen

Just take it easy. There's always tomorrow. And if tomorrow doesn't come, you won't have wasted any effort on it.

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 15-11-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,162
Thanks: 118
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
Likes: 273
Liked at 86 Times in 73 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Re: Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

It's full and a bit sluggish. I thought it would be nice to have it running more speedily.

Perhaps it would help if I removed all my photos to an external drive, but I would like to get rid of the dross that has collected over the past 5 years.

I've got to do something as I've only 12.5 Gb on my C: drive and 298 Mb on the L: drive.

I'm open to suggestions.

Windows 7 Home Edition.


ATM running disk cleanup but it's hanging - seems like an ongoing problem according to Google.
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 15-11-14
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Pixel scutcher
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 184
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 12
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked at 59 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 0
StephenL is on a distinguished road
Re: Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

With a hard disk that's five years old, I would look at cloning your system onto a new disk before it fails! At least, that way you shouldn't have to reinstall, just use a cloning program to copy everything onto a new drive.
__________________
Stephen

Just take it easy. There's always tomorrow. And if tomorrow doesn't come, you won't have wasted any effort on it.

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 16-11-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,162
Thanks: 118
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
Likes: 273
Liked at 86 Times in 73 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Re: Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

Thanks that sounds a good idea to me and then I could get a larger harddrive.
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 16-11-14
Autumn's Avatar
Autumn Autumn is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Nottinghamshire
Posts: 3,162
Thanks: 118
Thanked 48 Times in 48 Posts
Likes: 273
Liked at 86 Times in 73 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Autumn is on a distinguished road
Re: Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

I have looked at various sites for a hard drive but thought I would ask members opinions of where to buy a 1 Tb replacement from. I need the best value for money!
__________________
Audrey

https://www.flickr.com/photos/autumn36/
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 16-11-14
StephenL's Avatar
StephenL StephenL is offline
Pixel scutcher
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Yorkshire Dales
Posts: 184
Blog Entries: 1
Thanks: 12
Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts
Likes: 22
Liked at 59 Times in 34 Posts
Rep Power: 0
StephenL is on a distinguished road
Re: Resetting Laptop to Factory Settings

Have a look at CCL Computers or Dabs Direct. But there are dozens of reputable suppliers, maybe someone else can suggest their favourites?
__________________
Stephen

Just take it easy. There's always tomorrow. And if tomorrow doesn't come, you won't have wasted any effort on it.

My Flickr site
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
E-M1 Custom settings David Morison Micro Four Thirds discussion 1 22-11-13 03:38 PM
SOLVED Help 40D Manual settings guymclaren DSLR and other system camera discussion 1 24-07-09 08:42 PM
Manual settings for fireworks Gina General discussion 12 10-11-08 04:48 PM
Unable to view my images in Light Room since Restoring my back to factory settings. Autumn Living with Lightroom 9 25-05-08 11:31 PM
Resetting a dialogue box in Photoshop Ian Software solutions 5 25-10-06 08:40 AM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 12:03 PM.


Digital Photography Now, 2001-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger