Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Welcome > Say hello

Say hello Who are you? Tell us a bit about yourself in our forum guest book; where do you come from, what are your main interests (photographic or otherwise) and how you did you find out about DPNow?

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 29-11-09
Harold morgado Harold morgado is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Harold morgado is on a distinguished road
Macro help with my new Canon g11

Hello from Washington state!

I am a point and shoot guy that just went from my Canonsd700is to the Canon G11.

I take maco pics useing natural light and setting my white balence to match.

Can some one give me a short course on setting my G11, do do the same. It has so many more settings , that I am lost. I keep getting a yellow frame with a ! in it.

I sell watches and need the best pics I can get, but still on a budget, any help, please. Thank you
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 29-11-09
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,787
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold morgado View Post
Hello from Washington state!

I am a point and shoot guy that just went from my Canonsd700is to the Canon G11.

I take maco pics useing natural light and setting my white balence to match.

Can some one give me a short course on setting my G11, do do the same. It has so many more settings , that I am lost. I keep getting a yellow frame with a ! in it.

I sell watches and need the best pics I can get, but still on a budget, any help, please. Thank you
Hi Harold

I have a Canon 10G much the same as the 11G yours has the new spec.

I have used it for macro quite successfully.
I use unless there is mixed light AWB, not that its important because I always use RAW and not JPG, colour temp can be re-adjusted more successfully in RAW. Ensure you select the little tulip symbol for close focusing, I always use aperture priority, that just my way other may choose shutter priority.

That's about it, the warning symbol I was not able to recreate, I suspect its a warning of under exposure, or another setting that is unsuitable. If you are using JPG it could be to do with incorrect white balance, but I'm guessing, if it is selecting AWB would cure it.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 29-11-09
Harold morgado Harold morgado is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Harold morgado is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Thank you Pat, I will give that a try. I dont yet have a clue about Raw? Can I use that format to post pics on e-bay?
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 29-11-09
Stephen's Avatar
Stephen Stephen is offline
Seriously addicted
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Wakefield, W.Yorks.
Posts: 4,319
Blog Entries: 24
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Stephen is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold morgado View Post
Thank you Pat, I will give that a try. I dont yet have a clue about Raw? Can I use that format to post pics on e-bay?
I'd agree with all Patrick has suggested. However you will need software that can handle the raw files and therefore allow you the control to adjust you pictures appropriately.

As for Ebay, they accept jpeg files which you can produce from your Raw files by using raw conversion software. Did your camera come with a software CD that had Canon DPP on it. If so that's the one to go with for the moment
__________________
Stephen



Check out my BLOG too


Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 29-11-09
Harold morgado Harold morgado is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Harold morgado is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

You guys are the best. The software that came my new Canon G11, is ver. 54.0 "Digital Camera Solution Disk" I am leaning toward still useing my Canon Sd700IS, till I can get the hang of Macro use on the G11. I kinda got talked into it from another Watch seller. When I asked him for help, he told me he had not bought one yet and was still useing his Canon SD series! Thanks again, this site is the best!!
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 29-11-09
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,787
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold morgado View Post
You guys are the best. The software that came my new Canon G11, is ver. 54.0 "Digital Camera Solution Disk" I am leaning toward still useing my Canon Sd700IS, till I can get the hang of Macro use on the G11. I kinda got talked into it from another Watch seller. When I asked him for help, he told me he had not bought one yet and was still useing his Canon SD series! Thanks again, this site is the best!!
Hi Again

Stephen got there first, RAW is the relatively unprocessed image and can only be used after conversion to a file type of choice, Its advantage is the author makes all the choices as how the image will appear. JPG is precessed in the camera, but then you get what you are given.
Perceiver with the camera it is capable of outstanding results, visibly superior to your old one. If you can get to grips with RAW you could get even better results.
There is always help on this forum

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 29-11-09
Harold morgado Harold morgado is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Harold morgado is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Getting closer, Thanks to all your great help with a newbie!

The raw thing is Greek to me, when I set to Raw the Camera limits me to what I can do!. The yellow warning frame with the ! in it is telling me something, I read the book 5 times over and cant find what that means, LOW LIGHT , I am guessing!!
Thanks so much again! I got spoiled on my SD 700 IS !!
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 29-11-09
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,787
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 8 Times in 6 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 2 Times in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold morgado View Post
Getting closer, Thanks to all your great help with a newbie!

The raw thing is Greek to me, when I set to Raw the Camera limits me to what I can do!. The yellow warning frame with the ! in it is telling me something, I read the book 5 times over and cant find what that means, LOW LIGHT , I am guessing!!
Thanks so much again! I got spoiled on my SD 700 IS !!
Hi Harold

If you are having problems at the moment set the camera to Auto (TV) or program (P) it will then do all the work for you.

You have it wrong, RAW expands what you can do, but you do have to learn to use it. JPG losses information in the compression stage each time it is opened and closed. (CD/DVD are an exception to this providing they aren't rewritable).
Saved as TIFF or PSD to the computer then they cannot deteriorate.
What software do you use to view & adjust your images? there will be an option to select the file type for sure.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 30-11-09
Harold morgado Harold morgado is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 5
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Harold morgado is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Thanks Pat,

The only software is the ver. 54.0 Digital Camera Solution Disk my new Cannon G11 came with.

I should have just stuck with my Sd700is

But I am working and reading everything I can to make this New Canon work for me. Thanks so much again!
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 30-12-09
shutterbug74 shutterbug74 is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
shutterbug74 is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Hello Harold,

The yellow box with the yellow exclamation mark beside it is telling you that you're too close in zoom mode to your subject. Either step back a bit from your subject OR take it out of zoom a bit. If you take it out of zoom and move physically closer to your subject I can guarantee the marco function will work.

I've done this myself.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Harold morgado View Post
Thanks Pat,

The only software is the ver. 54.0 Digital Camera Solution Disk my new Cannon G11 came with.

I should have just stuck with my Sd700is

But I am working and reading everything I can to make this New Canon work for me. Thanks so much again!
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 09-04-10
magicaxeman magicaxeman is offline
Official cripple
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Essex in the UK
Posts: 15
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
magicaxeman is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

The following settings work well for me for macro work.

Turn on your camera.
Set the iso to the lowest possible, certainly no more than ISO 400.
Set it to aperture priority mode (AV) and set the aperture to f8.0 for best depth of field.
press the function button.
scroll the white balance to custom 1 or custom 2
Line up on a nuetral area in the shot you want to take or use a grey card then press the menu button to evaluate and set the white balance (you can do this for each shot if you want)
scroll down to "bracketing" set to "AEB", press the disp button, use left and right to set the bracketing value (2/3rds stop either side is good), press disp button to save and exit.
Scroll down to flash, choose flash compensation and reduce by 1/3rd stop
Scroll down to image size and select RAW.

Press menu
Set the following -
AF frame - flexi
Digital zoom - off
AF point zoom - off
Servo AF- off
Continuous AF- off
AF assist beam - on
MF point zoom - off
Safety MF - on
i contrast - off
spot AE point spot - AF point
IS mode - shoot only

Press meter mode button and set to either spot or centre weighted.


Using a tripod and remote release will allow you to shoot long exposures without issue for daylight only work.

Another tip is to either get one of the cheap LED ring lights from ebay or like me get a couple of cheap LED flexi clip on lamps from Argos to help light the subject.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 09-04-10
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 10,122
Blog Entries: 282
Thanks: 87
Thanked 135 Times in 115 Posts
Likes: 383
Liked at 187 Times in 150 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

Quote:
Originally Posted by magicaxeman View Post
The following settings work well for me for macro work.

Turn on your camera.
Set the iso to the lowest possible, certainly no more than ISO 400.
Set it to aperture priority mode (AV) and set the aperture to f8.0 for best depth of field.
press the function button.
scroll the white balance to custom 1 or custom 2
Line up on a nuetral area in the shot you want to take or use a grey card then press the menu button to evaluate and set the white balance (you can do this for each shot if you want)
scroll down to "bracketing" set to "AEB", press the disp button, use left and right to set the bracketing value (2/3rds stop either side is good), press disp button to save and exit.
Scroll down to flash, choose flash compensation and reduce by 1/3rd stop
Scroll down to image size and select RAW.

Press menu
Set the following -
AF frame - flexi
Digital zoom - off
AF point zoom - off
Servo AF- off
Continuous AF- off
AF assist beam - on
MF point zoom - off
Safety MF - on
i contrast - off
spot AE point spot - AF point
IS mode - shoot only

Press meter mode button and set to either spot or centre weighted.

Another tip is to either get one of the cheap LED ring lights from ebay or like me get a couple of cheap LED flexi clip on lamps from Argos to help light the subject.
Thanks for the advice and welcome to the DPNow forum and galleries!

Presumably you are a G11 user? I'm looking for someone to receive a copy of the Canon PowerShot G11 Digital Field Guide and in exchange provide some simple notes on what they think of the book, which will then be quoted in a review. The book would be yours to keep.

Let me know if you are interested!

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 15-03-16
newbie newbie is offline
Forum newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Puerto Rico
Posts: 1
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
newbie is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: Macro help with my new Canon g11

So maybe this has already been answered but I had the same problem and realized that subconsciously I was setting the camera to "M" thinking that was macro. Strange, because additionally I was pressing the tulip button. The auto setting won't work for these shots then I realized I need to keep the camera in Av Mode and then hit the tulip. I followed the advice here in the thread to use a shallow depth of the field and keep ISO low, I experimented with flash v. no flash and tah-dah the yellow square with the exclamation sign was gone. I had gotten this error message a lot and I think I just had the camera set to manual the entire time. I think the experts don't ever see this b/c they obviously understand the modes and how to construct the shots. Anytime I googled about this error most folks stated they had never seen it.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A few more macro peter Eye of the camera 13 23-08-08 12:06 AM
Some more macro peter Eye of the camera 14 20-08-08 07:12 PM
macro and dof fluffy penguin Eye of the camera 2 27-06-08 10:20 AM
Another Macro Pops Photo critique 22 26-10-06 11:02 PM
Macro bill jarvis Photo critique 3 22-10-06 10:51 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 04:52 PM.


Digital Photography Now, 2001-2017, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger