Digital Photography Now - www.dpnow.com  
 
advertisements
   

Go Back   DPNow.com Discussion Forum > Image insight > Software solutions

Software solutions Exchange ideas and tips and learn how to make the best use of your image editing software here.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 02-06-11
kennykodak's Avatar
kennykodak kennykodak is offline
M.Photog.MEI.Cr.
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Cincinnati, OH USA
Posts: 266
Blog Entries: 21
Thanks: 0
Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 0 Times in 0 Posts
Rep Power: 0
kennykodak is on a distinguished road
onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

onOne Software Perfect Layers

you can download a free public beta of this software. it allows you to create modifiable layers from inside Lightroom. very cool.
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 03-06-11
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 9,848
Blog Entries: 270
Thanks: 48
Thanked 76 Times in 62 Posts
Likes: 77
Liked at 36 Times in 29 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

I'll have a look at this, but I wonder if Lightroom needs this? The obvious question is how does it compare to Photoshop? I find that using PS in conjunction with LR works very well. Basically my concern is that LR works so well - perhaps because it is not saddled with layers, so my fear is that LR will be compromised by layers. We'll see

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 03-06-11
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 774
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Ian, it should not have any impact on how LR works at all because it is basically a stand alone program that opens in separate window that is called from within LR just like you would open the image in Photoshop and the layers are not created in LR. It then creates a PSD file which is referenced in LR just like using Photoshop.

There was a bit of furore over Scott Kelby (who has a vested interest with onone in producing it) saying it was layers within LR when in reality it is a standalone plugin.

There was a bit of backtracking to emphasise that this was aimed at people who do not have or do not want to learn a complicated program like CS/PSE9 just for layers and people took his words out of context.

One presumes from this that you are willing to pay £60 extra for the privelege of not having to learn layers in PSE9.
__________________
Regards Paul
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 03-06-11
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 9,848
Blog Entries: 270
Thanks: 48
Thanked 76 Times in 62 Posts
Likes: 77
Liked at 36 Times in 29 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Thanks Paul, that makes a lot of sense. So in essence it's for those Lightroom users who don't have or want Photoshop? Not having seen it yet, I wonder if Elements is up to the task - I expect it might be.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 03-06-11
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 774
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ian View Post
Thanks Paul, that makes a lot of sense. So in essence it's for those Lightroom users who don't have or want Photoshop? Not having seen it yet, I wonder if Elements is up to the task - I expect it might be.

Ian
Indeed it is and is the first Version of Elements to have a proper layer mask facility without having to use a work around.

__________________
Regards Paul
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-06-11
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 774
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Ian, after having another good look at the site it appears from what I can make out (and I may be wrong) there is no option to use a graduated filter on the mask as you can in PS layers to get a smooth blend, there is just a brush tool this in itself would make it inferior to Elements or PS layers and a show stopper for me.
__________________
Regards Paul
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-06-11
Ian's Avatar
Ian Ian is offline
Admin
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Hemel Hempstead UK
Posts: 9,848
Blog Entries: 270
Thanks: 48
Thanked 76 Times in 62 Posts
Likes: 77
Liked at 36 Times in 29 Posts
Rep Power: 0
Ian is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Indeed, that would be a serious omission.

Ian
__________________
Founder/editor
Digital Photography Now (DPNow.com)
Twitter: www.twitter.com/ian_burley
Flickr: www.flickr.com/photos/dpnow/
Pinterest: www.pinterest.com/ianburley/
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-06-11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,789
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Indeed it is and is the first Version of Elements to have a proper layer mask facility without having to use a work around.

Hi Paul/Ian

You said Paul PE9 is the first with layers without a work round, I have PE7 (free with my new printer earlier this year) running on my Windows 7 partition, it clearly has layers, not as comprehensive as the full PS version, but there none the less. No work rounds.
As too the OnOne Perfect Layers I find it works very well as far as it goes, clearly at the price PE9 in conjunction with LR is a better and cheaper option. Perfect Layers is very short on tools even now they have added a few more (a poor man's HDR by the look of things but without using the prefix) for the retail version, its no where near enough tools to justify the price.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-06-11
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 774
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by Patrick View Post
Hi Paul/Ian

You said Paul PE9 is the first with layers without a work round, I have PE7 (free with my new printer earlier this year) running on my Windows 7 partition, it clearly has layers, not as comprehensive as the full PS version, but there none the less. No work rounds.

Patrick
Hi Patrick, Elements has had adjustment layers since Version1 but has never had normal layers as in the full photoshop untill version 9.

I was a Adobe beta tester for PhotoShop Elements from Elements 3 to Elements 7 and I was forever asking them to include the normal layer facility in Elements.
__________________
Regards Paul
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 05-06-11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,789
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Hi Patrick, Elements has had adjustment layers since Version1 but has never had normal layers as in the full photoshop untill version 9.

I was a Adobe beta tester for PhotoShop Elements from Elements 3 to Elements 7 and I was forever asking them to include the normal layer facility in Elements.
Sorry not clear what you mean,
I have looked at PSE7, it has layers, it has adjustment layers.
What it doesn't have is channels.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 05-06-11
OlyPaul's Avatar
OlyPaul OlyPaul is offline
Full member
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: West Bromwich, West Midlands, UK
Posts: 774
Thanks: 4
Thanked 21 Times in 20 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked at 12 Times in 11 Posts
Rep Power: 0
OlyPaul is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Patrick sorry I was not clearer in my second post, but I said layer mask and not layers in my original post. Of course Elements has layer capability but it does not have a layer mask capability without using a add on or workaround such as using a clipping layer.


Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Indeed it is and is the first Version of Elements to have a proper layer mask facility without having to use a work around.

__________________
Regards Paul
One day I hope to be the person my dogs think I am.

My Flickr Photos
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 05-06-11
Patrick's Avatar
Patrick Patrick is offline
Forum veteran
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Walsall, Pelsall, West Midlands UK
Posts: 1,789
Blog Entries: 7
Thanks: 2
Thanked 7 Times in 5 Posts
Likes: 0
Liked 1 Time in 1 Post
Rep Power: 0
Patrick is on a distinguished road
Re: onOne Layers Plugin for Lightroom

Quote:
Originally Posted by OlyPaul View Post
Sorry Patrick, but I said layer mask and not layers in my original post. Of course Elements has layer capability but it does not have a layer mask capability without using a add on or workaround such as using a clipping layer.
Ahh Yes layer masks, that's different.

Patrick
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Layers in Lightroom? rogleale Headline news 11 26-04-11 05:03 PM
Combining exposures using Layers ryme-intrinseca Software solutions 5 22-02-09 11:12 PM
A VERY cool plugin! coupekid Headline news 5 03-09-08 04:21 PM
onOne Software, Inc., announces PhotoPresets for Adobe® Photoshop® Lightroom software DPNow PMA Show spotlight 0 07-03-07 04:03 PM
Virtual Photographer Plugin Archangel Software solutions 8 31-01-07 12:34 PM


All times are GMT +1. The time now is 03:40 PM.


© Digital Photography Now, 2001-2012, All rights reservedAd Management plugin by RedTyger