DPNow.com Discussion Forum

DPNow.com Discussion Forum (https://dpnow.com/forum2/index.php)
-   Help and advice for beginners (https://dpnow.com/forum2/forumdisplay.php?f=11)
-   -   High ISO speeds and Noise (https://dpnow.com/forum2/showthread.php?t=3414)

redruthann 31-07-07 06:30 PM

High ISO speeds and Noise

Hello again,

I am new to dslrs (Canon XTi) and manual photography techniques for which I have many questions...I'll post each separately (hope that's ok).

Please explain ISO speed, re higher speeds and noise.
I have not gotten the fstops down, but I experiment a lot - changing them to the exposure I want. But when I use 400 or more ISO, there's so much noise.

I have been taking pics of birds in my yard. Obviously they do not pose for you. I play with the f-stops and try faster ISOs. What situations use higher ISO speeds?

Using: Canon XTi; Sigma DG 28-300mm 1:3.5-6.3 - Telephoto/Macro

Ian 31-07-07 06:52 PM

Re: High ISO speeds and Noise

Quote:

Originally Posted by redruthann (Post 19827)
Hello again,

I am new to dslrs (Canon XTi) and manual photography techniques for which I have many questions...I'll post each separately (hope that's ok).

Please explain ISO speed, re higher speeds and noise.
I have not gotten the fstops down, but I experiment a lot - changing them to the exposure I want. But when I use 400 or more ISO, there's so much noise.

I have been taking pics of birds in my yard. Obviously they do not pose for you. I play with the f-stops and try faster ISOs. What situations use higher ISO speeds?

Using: Canon XTi; Sigma DG 28-300mm 1:3.5-6.3 - Telephoto/Macro

Welcome to DPNow, Ruth!

In simplified terms, ISO speed is a representation of the sensitivity of the camera's sensor. The lower the number the lower the sensitivity, so ISO 100 means you need more light to obtain the correct exposure than, say, ISO 400.